Complete Violin Sonatas

Complete Violin Sonatas

Book Title: Complete Violin Sonatas

Author: Carl Friedberg

Format: Paperback | 96 pages

Publication Date: 01 Dec 1998

ISBN-13: 9780571506774

The Complete Sonatas by G.F. Handel arranged for violin and basso continuo. From the imaginatively compelling fast movements to the meditative melodiousness of the introductory movements, these remarkable works provide a valuable and memorable insight into the rich -- and sometimes surprising -- musical mind of one of Baroque music's true giants.

Published in 1983, The Complete Sonatas was edited by Terence Best, who went on to become co-General Editor (with Professor Wolfgang Ruf, University of Halle-Wittenberg) of the Hallische Handel-Ausgabe (HHA), the modern collected edition of the music of George Frederic Handel. His appointment in October 1998 marked the first recognition of a British scholar in this position. Best also became a founder member of the Council of the Handel Institute and a vice-president of the Handelgesellschaft.